The Institute of High Energy Physics (IHEP), a Chinese Academy of Sciences research institute, is China's biggest laboratory for the study of particle physics, with a broad range of research in related fields such as accelerator technologies and nuclear analysis techniques. The Institute also provides beam facilities for researchers in other fields of study.

Working at IHEP are over 1400 full-time staff, as well as over 500 postdocs and graduate students. IHEP's main campus is at Yuquan Road in the west part of Beijing. The Beijing campus hosts the Beijing Electron-Positron Collider, the BESIII experiment, the Beijing Synchrotron Radiation Facility, and most of IHEP's research and administrative staff.

The Dongguan campus of IHEP is located at Guangdong Province, southern part of China. It is responsible for building and maintaining the China Spallation Neutron Source facility. In addition, IHEP runs experiment sites at Daya Bay and Jiangmen (both in Guangdong Province), Yangbajing (Tibet) and Daocheng (Sichuan Province).

Dongguan Campus

Established in February 2013, the Dongguan Campus is a branch of IHEP dedicated to building and operating the China Spallation Neutron Source (CSNS). It consists of two research divisions, the Division of Accelerator Technology and the Division of Neutron Science. There are currently over 350 staff and students based at the Dongguan Campus.

CSNS is composed of a linac with a modest but upgradable energy of 80 MeV, a rapid cycling synchrotron (RCS) of the energy at 1.6 GeV, 2 beam lines, a target station with a solid tungsten target, and 3 instruments for the first phase including a General-Purpose Powder Diffractometer (GPPD), a Small-Angle Neutron Scattering instrument (SANS) and a multi-purpose reflectometer (MR).

It is expected that the construction and operation of CSNS will have positive effects in promoting science, technology and national security. Thus, the Dongguan Campus is committed to serve as a bridge between the CSNS and the local government, and provide solid support for industrial development and technological innovation.